When I was about 13 years old, I complained to my horse riding instructor that I was tired. She explained to me that I was not tired, just uninspired. She asked me if someone were to give me two tickets to Paris, would I have enough energy to pack my bags and get on the plane? At the time I thought she was nuts. If you’re tired, you’re tired. And trust me, I have been down to the bones, falling asleep where I stand tired. But this day….this day, she may have been proven right.

I woke up to my alarm at 7 a.m. as always, jarring me into another long day at work. A Saturday, no less. I had been working a lot and woke up exhausted. One of those days where I couldn’t even see straight, stumbling around to piece together an outfit, and hoping not to spill my coffee all down my front mornings. After working a full 8 hour shift, I spent an hour and a half running around the grocery store like a mad woman, gathering the food we would need to get through the next few weeks, knowing I had a sick husband at home. I came home to a sink full of dirty dishes and a sick husband on the couch.

But, I had been spending some time reading food blogs and looking up recipes on how to make tomato sauce and tomato soup using fresh garden tomatoes. I had bought ingredients to make my sick hubby some home made chicken soup, inspired by a recipe I had found.  So, instead of changing into my sweats and sinking into the couch, I continued running around the kitchen like a “headless chicken” as Gordon Ramsey likes to say. I was putting away groceries and cooking and doing dishes, simultaneously. And you know what? I made the soup AND the sauce AND cleaned up the kitchen. I didn’t sit down to eat my own dinner until 9pm (and yes, I did have to work the next day). How did I suddenly have all this energy to stay in the kitchen and cook for hours?

Inspiration.

So, although I of course wrote nothing down, I am going to (try) share with you the soup I made in the middle of this madness. Soup that my husband said allowed him to breath for the first time all day. I hope it inspires you.

You will need:

Two chicken breast cutlets (I used frozen)

About 1 cup of white wine

½  cup of dry white rice

½ bag of baby carrots

½ large bunch of celery

½ white onion

1 medium yellow zucchini

About three cups of fresh spinach leaves

1 carton of chicken stock

1 carton of chicken broth

1 cup of water

About 4 tablespoons chopped garlic

About 4 tablespoons olive oil

Large handful of fresh parsley, coarsely chopped

Small handful of fresh poultry herbs (rosemary, sage, thyme), coarsely chopped

 

Chop all vegetables except the spinach into small pieces all about the same size. For my celery, I even used the leafy part and chopped the leaves in to add to the mix.

Prepare the rice. I used my Pampered Chef microwave rice cooker, which I can’t live without!

Heat 2 tablespoons oil in a pan over medium heat. Add 2 tablespoons garlic. Then add the chicken breast cutlets. Top with the wine and fresh poultry herbs. Cover and allow to simmer until chicken is cooked.

Meanwhile, in a large pot, heat the remaining 2 tablespoons olive oil over medium heat. Add garlic and cook about two minutes, stirring frequently. Then add all the vegetables except the spinach (carrots, celery, onion, zucchini). Allow these to cook until slightly tender. Make sure to toss the vegetables frequently to assure even cooking.

When the chicken is cooked, remove from heat and transfer to a cutting board. Cut the chicken into small, bite sized pieces. Add the chicken to the vegetable mix in the large pot. Add the rest of the contents of the pan you cooked the chicken in to the pot as well. If needed, deglaze the pan with a small amount of chicken broth, and then pour that into the pot.

Cover the chicken and vegetables with the broth, stock, and water. Add in the spinach and parsley and stir all the ingredients to make sure they are evenly distributed. Add in the cooked rice and stir again.

Allow soup to simmer on low heat for about 30-45 minutes, until vegetables are tender.

Serve and enjoy!

My husband requested that I make him a three cheese (provolone, Swiss, and American) grilled cheese sandwich to go with his soup (OK, he requested two grilled cheese sandwiches). For myself (when I finally sat down), I ate mine with a turkey sandwich and a salad.

Whatever you serve this soup with, I hope you find it satisfying.

Until next time, bon appétit!

 

