Welcome back readers! I am so happy to have you stop by.

So I guess my plans to bombard you with posts before student teaching fell pretty flat (I start in the classroom tomorrow). But I do have a few things up my sleeve for you.

Right now I would like to share an oven chicken and veggies recipe. Keep reading to see what I did with the leftovers for this, too. 

Oven Chicken and Veggies

You will need:

3 Chicken Breast Cutlets

1 Large Zucchini, sliced

1 bell pepper, chopped

About 1 cup fresh spinach

1 bag of frozen California blend veggies

2 cups of chicken broth

1 teaspoon ginger

1 teaspoon lemon pepper mix

1/2 teaspoon celery seed

1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper

Preheat oven to 375.

Grease a 9×11 baking dish

Place zucchini slices on the bottom of the dish

Place three chicken cutlets on top

Cover with remaining veggies

Pour 2 cups broth all over the top

Sprinkle contents with all spices

Cover with foil and place in preheated oven

Bake for 1/2 hour, then remove foil and bake for another 1/2 hour

I served this with white rice as pictured (made with that handy-dandy pampered chef microwave rice cooker!)

chicken and veggies

You will want leftovers!! And here is what to do with them.

Chicken, bean, and veggie crock pot soup

You will need:

Bag of 16 bean mix (dry)

Leftover chicken, broth, and veggies (I probably had about a cutlet and a half of chicken left over to give you an idea)

2 cups of chicken broth

4 cups of chicken stock

1 medium white onion, chopped

sprinkle more of each: ginger, cayenne pepper, lemon/pepper mix, celery seed

And a sprinkle of cumin

Soak the beans overnight according to the package directions. Then drain and rinse the beans.

Cut the leftover chicken into bite-sized chunks (could do this before you put the leftovers away, or right when you are ready to make this)

Put all contents in a crock pot. Set on low. I put mine in the morning before work, then let it cook all day (about nine hours in the crock pot).

Enjoy! This soup was a hit with everyone!! Sorry, I do not have a picture of the soup.

Until next time. Bon appetit!

