Hello again my faithful readers! I hope this post finds you well.

Today I want to share what I made us for dinner last night. It’s a venison stew inspired by both French and Irish elements. It was SO GOOD. But I want to warn you this is anything but “quick and easy.” I spent a little over an hour in this kitchen first thing in the morning when I woke up, and allowed the stew to simmer on the stove all day. So if you don’t have all day to spend on this dinner, then maybe store this one away for when you will have the time. But again, well worth it. 

I also want to share with you the story of how I came up with this meal. I was supposed to have a friend come over for lunch. I didn’t have the time or money to go to the store, so I racked my brain trying to figure out what to make. I knew I had some deer meat in the freezer. I also had some leftover steamed veggies from ordering Chinese takeout (the sauce was on the side), and the rice for the veggies also. I had some leftover Brussels sprouts that needed used up as well as some cauliflower. Yes, I turned leftover Chinese takeout and other various odds to use up in my fridge into this venison stew. So when I say 2 cups of cooked rice-that’s what I had leftover to use up. Feel free to make your own adjustments based on what you might have. And when I say 4 1/2 cups of veggies, that’s what I used….but feel free to use what you may have on hand. Turns out the friend couldn’t make it, so I allowed this to simmer all day and had it for dinner instead. More for us!

stew on stove

You will need:

A few tablespoons of olive oil

1 pound venison steaks

1 1/2 cups red wine

1 whole orange

1 bottle of beer

32 ounces beef stock

1 can of diced tomatoes in Italian seasoning

4 heaping tablespoons of chopped garlic

1/2 teaspoon rosemary

1/2 teaspoon oregano

1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon celery seed

2 cups of cooked rice

4 1/2 cups of veggies (see above)

 

Heat the olive oil in a large soup pot.

Fry the venison steaks in the olive oil. I left my steaks very rare-just cooked enough that they were easier to cut.

Remove the steaks and cut into small, bite sized pieces

Wash the orange well. Cut the orange into eight wedges. (Yes, you really do need this orange. I was skeptical, too. But it infused the stew with such a fragrant taste)

Add the venison, wine, orange, beer, beef stock, tomatoes, garlic, and all seasoning to the pot.

Bring these elements to a rolling boil. Boil for five minutes.

Turn to low. Add in the veggies and rice. (Note: you may cut these veggies however you see fit. For example, I cut the Brussels sprouts into quarters before adding them to the mix)

Cover the pot and allow to simmer all day (approximately 8 1/2 hours). I did keep an eye on the stew and stirred it a few times during this process.

stew in bowl

Enjoy!

Until next time. Bon appetit!

