Welcome back readers! Thanks for stopping by.

I know it has been a while since my last post. Student teaching has been keeping me quite busy! But student teaching has ended, so I hope to be back in the kitchen and whipping up all kinds of great creations to share on a regular basis.

In the meantime, here’s something I created the other night. This was part I was craving Applebee’s, part I felt like trying something new, part I had some stuff to get rid of, and part I wanted really great presentation. Unfortunately, in my tired creative stupor, I did not write anything down (that’s pretty on par, eh?). But I don’t want that to stop me from sharing what I thought was one of the best things I have made in a long time.

You will need:

1 large frozen boneless/skinless chicken breast

1/2 bottle of beer (I used Killians Red)

1 package frozen chopped spinach

1 package frozen pepper/onion mix

1 package frozen corn (we were lucky enough to have some left over from the garden that we froze)

1 Clementine-peeled and separated into its sections

1 tablespoon lime juice

1 tablespoon of mesquite seasoning (pictured below)

1 tablespoon of fiesta citrus seasoning (pictured below)

Dash of cayenne pepper

Handful of fresh cilantro, roughly cut

Mexican mix shredded cheese (desired amount)

About 1/4 cup cooked rice (this expanded!)

Two fresh tomatoes, sliced

One fresh avocado, cut into pieces

Two handfuls taco chips, crunched up

Non-stick spray

OPTIONAL: Two sprigs of cilantro for garnish

photo (11)

I always talk about these seasonings, but I thought a picture might be helpful

 

Spray a frying pan with non-stick spray.

Heat over medium heat.

Add chicken

Season chicken with half the mesquite, fiesta citrus, and cayenne pepper seasonings as well as half the lime juice.

Pour half the bottle of beer over the chicken.

Add spinach, peppers/onions, corn, Clementine pieces, cilantro, and rice. Season with remaining spices and lime juice.

Allow chicken to cook until almost done

When the chicken is ALMOST done, take out and cut into about one inch strips

Place back in the pan.

Turn up the heat until medium/high and cook until chicken is done and all veggies are hot.

*Note* I mixed this in the pan a handful of times while cooking

Most of the beer should cook off so that you are left with a nice rice, chicken, and veggie mix.

Take two plates. On each plate, put one sliced fresh tomato down the middle. Top with one handful of crunched up taco chips. Place half of the fresh avocado slices to the side.

Top prepared plate with the chicken, rice, and veggie mixture.

Then top with desired amount of shredded cheese.

For optional garnish, can top with a sprig of fresh cilantro.

Enjoy this delicious dish!

photo (12)

Until next time, bon appétit!

