NOTE: Sorry it’s been such a while since an update. I started this post on June 2, and then life got crazy!!

This is a soup I dreamed up that I originally intended to be somewhat healthy and even vegan. As you can see, neither goal was met….but this soup did turn out quite good. I warn you this is SPICY SPICY SPICY!! Even my husband and friend who ate it, who both like spicy foods, agreed this was SPICY-and that was AFTER I tried to tone it down. So if you don’t like Indian flavors or spicy foods, this isn’t the soup for you. But if you do, you are in for a TREAT! 🙂

And yes, I actually meticulally measured out things this time and took notes so I could give you the most accurate receipe.

You will need:

1 cup radishes

5 cups carrots (I used a combination of fresh and frozen)

1.5 cups white onion

2 tablepoons olive oil

5 heaping tablespoons garlic

1 can chickpeas with the juices

1 can tomato paste + one can water

2.5 cups of water, divided into 0.5 cups and 2 cups

2 tespoons cumin

2 teaspoons salt

2 tablespoons curry

1.5 teaspoons cayenne pepper

1 tablespoon ginger

2 teaspoons corrender seeds

1 teaspoon white peppercorns

1 teaspoon nutmeg

1 teaspooon tumeric

1 teaspooon cinnamon

2 teaspoons lemon juice

2 bricks cream cheese (I used reduced fat)

0.5 cups milk

1 cup heavy cream

Fresh cilantro

Chop vegetables so that all peices are somewhat the same size

Heat olive oil in the pan

Cook the carrots, radishes, and onion in the heated oil until soft over medium heat

photo (15)

Add 0.5 cups water and garlic, mix, and cook a few more minutes

Add chickpeas with all juices, 1 can tomato paste+one can of water and stir

photo (16)

Turn heat down from medium to medium low and add ALL spices except the fresh cilantro

Mix well-this will be somewhat thick at this point, almost pasty

photo (18)

Add 2 cups water and lemon juice, then mix again

photo (19)

If you taste it at this point for spice (which I did), beware your eyes will water and your face will turn bright red and you may even breath fire

Continue to simmer this mix for the next half hour

Place hot mix in batches in the food processor along with parts of cream cheese until all cream cheese is evenly distributed and all hot mix has been processed to desired smoothness.

photo (20)

Once all soup has been mixed and processed and returned to the pot, I mixed in half a cup of milk (I used skim)-I did this because the soup was STILL extremely spicy.

Now, I was home all day so I let the soup simmer on low until dinner-several hours. But at this point, the soup could be put in the fridge and heated until you are ready to serve.

photo (21)

About half an hour before I was ready to serve, I mixed in the cup of heavy cream along with a generous amount of roughly chopped fresh cilantro-I think I forgot to take a picture at this point-sorry!

Then simply serve and enjoy! Until next time, bon appetit!

